· Related development
FY2026/27 budget book raises the City's CRMWA payment line to $14.2 million
The FY2026/27 budget book (after council review) budgets $14,216,749 for the "Pmnt to CRMWA - M" line in the Surface Water Treatment cost center, up $4,965,794 from the FY2025/26 budget of $9,250,955, plus $4,021,325 of debt service on CRMWA refunding bonds. The book does not state the reason for the increase. At the September 29, 2026 meeting where the budget was adopted with an 11% water and sewer fee increase, Councilmember David Prescott cited a new CRMWA pipeline among large upcoming water expenses.[1][2]
David PrescottCole StanleyCanadian River Municipal Water Authority (CRMWA)
What the sources say
- ✓ Verified
In the FY2026/27 budget book (after council review, September 24, 2026), the Surface Water Treatment cost center's line "SC78000 - Pmnt to CRMWA - M" shows actual spending of $7,216,296 (FY2022/23), $7,640,941 (FY2023/24) and $6,489,367 (FY2024/25), a FY2025/26 budget of $9,250,955 (revised estimate $9,000,000) and a FY2026/27 budget of $14,216,749, an increase of $4,965,794 over the FY2025/26 budget. The book does not state the reason for the increase.[1]
- Fy2023 actual
- $7,216,296
- Fy2024 actual
- $7,640,941
- Fy2025 actual
- $6,489,367
- Fy2026 budget
- $9,250,955
- Fy2026 revised
- $9,000,000
- Fy2027 budget
- $14,216,749
- Increase
- $4,965,794
- ✓ Verified
The same budget book lists $4,021,325 in FY2026/27 debt service (principal $3,513,882, interest $507,443) on the City's share of CRMWA refunding bonds (2017, 2020 and 2023 series), paid from the water and sewer system, with $12,677,194 outstanding; the schedule shows these bonds retired by FY2031.[1]
- Fy2027 debt service
- $4,021,325
- Outstanding
- $12,677,194
- ✓ Verified
David Prescott: At the September 29, 2026 meeting, after Mayor Cole Stanley asked that the council consider a rate decrease if the pending rate study finds the 11% fee increase is not needed, Councilmember David Prescott said he was concerned about large upcoming water expenses, such as a new CRMWA pipeline.[2]
- ✓ Verified
The City described the FY2026/27 11% water and sewer fee increase as 8% for capital improvements and 3% for debt service on the Hollywood Road wastewater loan. None of the sources reviewed for this record states that any part of that increase is for CRMWA II, and none shows a separate CRMWA II charge to Amarillo utility customers.[2][3][4]