Ask AI
Opens the assistant with a question about this page. Answers come from the AI, not this site.
ChatGPTClaudePerplexityCity of Amarillo · Utility Billing department
Amarillo 311
In 2016 the City Council approved technology for a 3-1-1 phone line and app to take non-emergency calls off 9111,2. Ten years later, "Amarillo 311" is a contact center inside the Utility Billing department that answers general questions and calls for about a dozen departments3. The City's 911 center still lists 806-378-3038 as the non-emergency number4, and no coverage or City page on file reports when, or whether, dialing 3-1-1 was switched on.
The software changed along the way. Budgets credited Tyler's EnerGov with "enablement of 311," then the City replaced it with MyGovernmentOnline, which the 2023/24 budget again listed for "the enablement of 311"; both went into use for building permits, and no record on file describes a 311 request system on either11,15,9. Since 2019 the council has approved $685.2K for call center software and services, apart from the software it bought for 311 among other uses (spending).
The same staff answer the utility billing line. During the 2026 billing problems the average wait there reached 38:18 in August 2026, against 5:12 a year earlier, with 9.6 agents a day taking calls instead of 18.25,6.
Jump to: the plan and now · calls · answer times ·history · spending · software and vendors ·questions · full 311 storyline
- Calls to the 311 line, 2024/25
- 62,361
- the budget’s "311 (Operator)" count
- Answered within 3 min., 2024/25
- 53%
- of contact-center calls · 70% in 2021/22
- Average wait, August 2026
- 38:18
- utility billing line · 5:12 in August 2025
- 311 staff, proposed 2026/27
- 14
- 11 agents, 2 leads, a supervisor
- Non-emergency number
- 378-3038
- area code 806 · per the City's 911 center
- Call center software approved
- $685.2K
- council actions 2019–2025 · our sum
The 2016–17 plan and what's on record now
What officials and the software vendor described in 2016 and 2017, item by item, against the budgets, minutes and City pages on file in October 2026. "Not on record" means no source we've found reports it, not that it can't exist.
Dial 3-1-1
Not on record
Proposed
Residents would dial 311 for anything that isn't an emergency. In January 2017 the City was waiting on Public Utility Commission approval, which officials said could delay the system two or three months; in February 2017 NewsChannel 10 reported the City was "about a month and half out from having the new system."1,2,13
A 311 call center separate from 911
In place, inside Utility Billing
Proposed
"A separate call center" to "answer simple questions" and take reports of potholes, broken street lights, graffiti and loose dogs.1,2
On record, 2026
Two 311 representatives and a supervisor sat in the IT department's Telecom division until 2022/23, when the positions moved into Utility Billing's call center. Those agents also answer the utility billing line; the 2026/27 budget lists 11 agents, 2 leads and a supervisor taking calls for about a dozen departments.10,8,3
Take non-emergency calls off 911
911 still answers non-emergency calls
Proposed
Officials said about 80% of the calls to the 911 center were not emergencies.2
A mobile app to report problems with a photo and location
Not on record
Software to run 311
Two platforms named; no 311 request system on record
Proposed
Tyler Technologies' 2017 announcement of EnerGov and Munis said residents would get real-time data "through the city's 3-1-1 initiatives."18
On record, 2026
EnerGov went live for permits and inspections in 2021, and three budgets credited it with "enablement of 311." In 2022 the IT department proposed MyGovernmentOnline (MGO) to replace "the current Tyler EnerGov and 311 applications," with its "311 Call Center" module at no cost; permits moved to MGO in March 2023, and the 2023/24 budget listed MGO for "the enablement of 311." No release, budget or City page on file describes a 311 request system on either platform.19,10,11,8,15,20,9
Calls by line
Phone calls the Utility Billing contact center counted for each line, as the budget books report actual years. A dash means the line wasn't counted that year. In 2024/25 the lines total 244,264 calls (our calculation).
| Line | 2022/23 | 2024/25 |
|---|---|---|
| 311 (operator) | 64,985 | 62,361 |
| Utility Billing | 118,686 | 125,027 |
| Community Development | 13,309 | 2,431 |
| Solid Waste | 7,592 | 9,098 |
| Animal Management and Welfare | 2,141 | 22,406 |
| City Marshal | — | 7,348 |
| Vital Statistics | — | 7,025 |
| Streets | — | 3,781 |
| Planning | — | 2,476 |
| Water Distribution | — | 1,234 |
| Traffic | — | 1,077 |
Sources7,3. The 2024/25 Community Development count fell to 2,431 from 13,309, as printed; the budget doesn't explain it.
Calls answered within three minutes
Share of contact-center calls handled within three minutes, from each budget's "actual" column. No book reports an actual for 2023/24. The City's goal for utility billing waits is three to five minutes6.
| x | Answered within 3 minutes |
|---|---|
| 2020/21 | 61% |
| 2021/22 | 70% |
| 2022/23 | 63% |
| 2024/25 | 53% |
| Fiscal year | Within 3 min. |
|---|---|
| 2020/218 | 61% |
| 2021/229 | 70% |
| 2022/237 | 63% |
| 2024/253 | 53% |
From a 3-1-1 line to a contact center
The proposal. Councilmember Mark Nair proposed a 311 line in 2016; the council approved technology for it on June 28, 2016, and IT Director Rich Gagnon described a separate call center and a mobile app for reporting potholes, streetlights, graffiti and illegal dumping1. In January 2017 officials said about 80% of calls to the 911 center were not emergencies, that the City was waiting on Public Utility Commission approval, and that savings from past projects would pay for it2,13.
The staff. Budgets from 2020/21 list two 311 customer service representatives and a supervisor in the IT department's Telecom division. The 2022/23 budget moved the 311 positions to Utility Billing, after the council bought call center licenses "to assist in implementation of 311 employees into Utility Billing's current call center"10,8,22. A 2021 opinion piece said Amarillo had no 311 system14.
The software. Tyler Technologies announced a software-as-a-service agreement for EnerGov and Munis in January 2017, saying residents would get real-time data "through the city's 3-1-1 initiatives"18. The 2020/21 budget said the year would be spent implementing EnerGov "for permitting, land management, workorder, and enablement of 311," and the next two budgets said IT had completed it10,11,8; Tyler's 2021 go-live announcement covered permits, inspections and a citizen portal, not 31119. After a February 2022 work session on the "Status Update on 311 Project", the IT department proposed MyGovernmentOnline in May 2022 to replace "the current Tyler EnerGov and 311 applications," saying it would save over $300,000 a year in support fees and listing a "311 Call Center" module at no cost15. Permits moved to it on March 13, 202320, and the 2023/24 budget listed MGO for "the enablement of 311" as a multi-year initiative9. The 2026/27 budget mentions MGO only for permits, and no record on file describes a 311 request system on it. In 2023 the council also bought Emma, a digital human for the website, citing "311 functions"26. See the software transition storyline.
The contact center. Utility Billing's agents took on calls for Solid Waste, Community Development and Animal Management, then Planning and the City Marshal, and the 2023/24 and 2024/25 budgets planned "311 Informational Services"7. The proposed 2026/27 budget calls the Amarillo 311 Contact Center the City's "centralized hub for non-emergency services and information"3. In September 2026 the mayor said he was "not sure that 311 is working accurately or efficiently"6.
311 positions by budget
| Budget | Department | Positions |
|---|---|---|
| 2020/21 | IT Telecom | Two 311 customer service representatives and a supervisor10 |
| 2021/22 | IT Telecom | The same three positions11 |
| 2022/23 | Utility Billing | Four 311 positions moved from IT Telecom (one hourly representative, two representatives, a supervisor)8 |
| 2023/24 | Utility Billing | 12 call center agents, 3 leads, a supervisor and 4 hourly agents9 |
| 2024/25 | Utility Billing | 12 call center agents, 3 leads, a supervisor and 4 hourly agents7 |
| 2025/26 | Utility Billing | 11 call center agents, 2 leads and a supervisor12 |
| 2026/27 | Utility Billing | 11 call center agents, 2 leads and a supervisor (proposed)3 |
What the council approved for 311 software
Council actions buying software or services named for 311 or the contact center. "Call center" rows are for the contact center alone; the total is our sum of those. "Shared" rows bought software for 311 among other uses, and the records don't say how much of it was for 311. Staff pay is not included.
| Date | Purchase | Vendor | For | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnerGov and Munis software as a service, tied to "the city's 3-1-1 initiatives"18 | Tyler Technologies | Shared | amount not reported; council action not located | |
| AT&T contract renewal for inContact call center software21 | AT&T / NICE inContact | Call center | $352,188.00 | |
| Two-year interlocal agreement for MyGovernmentOnline: permitting, licensing, planning, code enforcement and "311 citizen services"25,15 | South Central Planning and Development Commission | Shared | $270,700.08 | |
| Licenses to move 311 employees into Utility Billing's call center22 | NICE inContact | Call center | $70,693.01 | |
| Emma, the website's digital human, for "website, digital literacy, and 311 functions" (up to)26 | Dell Technologies | Shared | $582,948.89 | |
| Services within the NICE CXone call center platform23 | Globalscope Communications | Call center | $198,208.80 | |
| ProcedureFlow process software for the 311 Call Center, not budgeted24 | Carahsoft (ProcedureFlow) | Call center | $64,125.15 | |
| Call center software and services | $685,214.96 | |||
Shared purchases: Tyler Technologies (amount not reported); South Central Planning and Development Commission ($270,700.08); Dell Technologies ($582,948.89). Payments actually made appear with each vendor below.
Software and vendors
Council actions from the minutes. "Paid" is what the City's check registers record to that payee from Jul 1, 2022 to Jul 31, 2026, for all of its work.
NICE inContact (CXone), through AT&T
Paid $156.0K · 39 payments, Jul 14, 2022 – Jun 15, 2026 · payments
Cloud call center software for the Utility Billing and 311 contact center: call queues, auto-callback, email and chat. Payments shown are those made to NICE inContact directly; AT&T's cover many other telephone services and are not shown21,22,8
- · AT&T contract renewal for inContact, $352,188 (consent, 5-0)
- · Licenses to move 311 employees into Utility Billing's call center, $70,693.01 (consent)
Globalscope Communications
Paid $380.5K · 22 payments, Jul 18, 2024 – Jun 11, 2026 · payments
Services within the NICE CXone call center platform, renewed annually23
- · $198,208.80 (consent, 5-0)
ProcedureFlow (through Carahsoft)
Process software for the 311 Call Center to create, navigate, maintain and share procedures. Carahsoft resells many products to the City, so its payments are not shown24
- · $64,125.15, not budgeted (consent, 5-0)
MyGovernmentOnline (South Central Planning and Development Commission)
Paid $368.7K · 49 payments, Dec 5, 2022 – Jul 30, 2026 · payments
The AI digital human on the City website, awarded in 2023 to support "website, digital literacy, and 311 functions"26
- · Development, up to $582,948.89 (5-0)
The record
- FY2026/27 budget describes the "Amarillo 311 Contact Center" in Utility Billing
- Utility Billing director reports 38-minute average wait times and explains the 311 routing
- FY2025/26 budget lists 11 311 Call Center Agents in Utility Billing
- Council buys ProcedureFlow process software for the 311 Call Center, $64,125.15
- FY2024/25 budget reports 64,985 calls to the 311 operator line in FY2022/23
- FY2023/24 budget plans "311 Informational Services" through the Utility Billing contact center
- Council awards Globalscope $198,208.80 for services within the NICE CXone call center platform
- FY2022/23 budget moves 311 positions from IT Telecom to Utility Billing
- Council buys call center licenses to move 311 employees into Utility Billing's call center, $70,693.01
- Council work session discusses a "Status Update on 311 Project"
- Commentary on a local radio station's website says Amarillo has no 311 system
- FY2020/21 budget lists 311 customer service positions in IT Telecom
- Council renews the AT&T contract for inContact cloud call center software, $352,188
- Council work session receives an "Update on 311 and Open Technology"
- Council approves technology for a proposed 311 non-emergency system
Questions and answers
Short answers from the records on this page. Numbers link to the sources.
Does Amarillo have 311?
Partly. The City runs an "Amarillo 311 Contact Center" inside its Utility Billing department, which answers general questions and calls for about a dozen departments; the budget counts 62,361 calls to its "311 (Operator)" line in 2024/25. The City's 911 center still lists 806-378-3038 as the non-emergency number, and no coverage or City page on file reports when, or whether, dialing 3-1-1 was switched on.3,4
What number do I call for a non-emergency in Amarillo?
The City's Emergency Communications Center lists 806-378-3038 for non-emergencies and 9-1-1 for emergencies. Utility Billing is at (806) 378-3030.4,27
Why was 311 proposed?
Councilmember Mark Nair proposed it in 2016 to take non-emergency calls off 911. Officials said in January 2017 that about 80% of calls to the 911 center were not emergencies, and that the website and phone system would be paid for with savings from past infrastructure projects. A preliminary version was targeted for October 2016; in early 2017 the City was waiting on Public Utility Commission approval.1,2,13
Why are the wait times so long?
The utility billing director told the council that August 2026 calls waited 38 minutes 18 seconds on average, against 5 minutes 12 seconds in August 2025, though calls fell from 21,509 to 18,319. Agents taking calls averaged 9.6 a day, down from 18.2, which she attributed to turnover. Callers to 311 with billing questions are routed to the utility billing line. The budget reports 53% of contact-center calls handled within three minutes in 2024/25, down from 70% in 2021/22.5,6,3,9
Who runs Amarillo 311?
The Utility Billing department. 311 positions sat in the IT department's Telecom division until the 2022/23 budget moved them to Utility Billing, whose contact center took on calls for other departments. The proposed 2026/27 budget lists 11 call center agents, 2 leads and a supervisor.8,3
What software does the 311 center use?
NICE inContact (CXone) cloud call center software, bought through AT&T, with services from Globalscope and process software from ProcedureFlow. IT budget narratives described Tyler EnerGov as covering "enablement of 311," and in 2022 the IT department said MyGovernmentOnline could replace the City's EnerGov and 311 applications.21,23,24,15,10
How much has Amarillo spent on 311 software?
Council actions on file approved $685,214.96 for call center software and services between 2019 and 2025: $352,188 for inContact through AT&T, $70,693.01 in licenses to bring 311 staff into Utility Billing's call center, $198,208.80 to Globalscope and $64,125.15 for ProcedureFlow (our sum). The City also bought software that listed 311 among other uses: Tyler EnerGov (2017, amount not reported), MyGovernmentOnline ($270,700.08 for two years) and Emma (up to $582,948.89). The check registers record $155,996.98 paid to NICE inContact and $380,525.15 to Globalscope in the registers on file, which run from July 2022 to July 2026.21,22,23,24,18,25,26,28
Which parts of the 2016 311 plan are in place?
The call center is: 311 agents answer general questions inside Utility Billing. The records on file don't show the other parts. No record reports 3-1-1 dialing or the reporting app launching, the 911 center still answers non-emergency calls on its own number, and the software the City named for "enablement of 311", first Tyler EnerGov and then MyGovernmentOnline, went into use for permits. No release or budget describes a 311 request system on either.3,4,16,8,9,20
Is Emma, the website's digital human, part of 311?
The council's 2023 award to Dell describes Emma as supporting "website, digital literacy, and 311 functions." Emma answers questions on the City website; the contact center answers phone calls.26
Related
- Amarillo 311: from a proposed non-emergency line (2016) to the Utility Billing contact center (2026)
- High utility bills: the 2026 billing switch, smart meters and the enQuesta system (2018-2026)
- Emma, the City of Amarillo's website digital human (2023-2026)
- Amarillo's enterprise software transition: Tyler Munis and EnerGov to Workday and MGO (2017-2026)
- Water bills, rates, smart meters and the billing system
- Emma, the website's digital human